Council Chambers, April 30, 1900. Special session.

Roll call—Present: Ald. Hamilton, Richards, Schlenker, Rohde, Kearns, Vandawarker, Brown, Grose, Coon, Jenny, Bliton, Fischer—12. Absent: Ald. Koch, Weeks and Pres. Seabolt— 3.

On the absence of President Seabolt, Ald. Hamilton was elected chairman pro tem.

Mayor's Office, Ann Arbor, Mich.,

April 30, 1900.

To James E. Harkins, Esq., City Clerk:

Dear Sir—Please issue the usual notice and call for a special meeting of the Common Council of the City of Ann Arbor to be held in the Council Chambers on Monday evening, April 30, 1900, at 7:30 o'clock local time, for the purpose of considering the report of the Bond Committee, and the approval of all bonds which shall be before the Council, and also for the purpose of considering the approval of the appointment by the Board of Public Works of Edwin W. Groves to the office of City Engineer, made on the 18th day of April, A. D. 1900.

Dated Ann Arbor, Mich., April 39, 1900.

GOTTLOB LUICK,

Mayor.

Report of Bond Committee read by Ald. Bliton, and on motion of Ald. Brown report and bonds were adopted.

Ann Arbor, Mich., April 28, 1900.

To the Common Council:

Gentlemen—Your Committee on Bonds would respectfully recommend the following liquor and druggists' bonds with sureties for your approval:

Perry & Perrigo (St. James hotel)—Michael Brenner and Fred Marken.

Fred Besimer—George M. Clarken and W. E. Walker.

J. G. Fred Schmidt—Jacob Dupper and John C. Schmid.

Oswald Dietz—H. Hardinghouse and C. F. Pardon.

Michael Staebler—Christ Spaeth and J. Fred Staebler.

Jacob Dupper—Louis Kurtz and Fred Brown.

Joseph Parker—Philip O'Hara and Fred Besimer.

John Goetz & Son—Fred Kirn and John Walz, Sr.

Jacob Gwinner—Wm. J. Clancy and Fred G. Harpst.

Emil Golz—P. Fred Reimold and Herman Hardinghouse.

August Waidelich—John Maulbetsch and Geo. A. Waidelich.

Edmund Clancy—John Laughlin and Wm. H. Clancy.

Add Collum—George M. Clarken and Warren E. Walker.

Auson W. Wright—August Herz and Charles Keyser.

Richard Kearns, Jr.—John T. Kenney and Richard Kearns, Sr.

John Fred Reimold—Math. Fischer and Charles F. Keyser.

John Schaible—Jerry W. Walsh and Charles F. Lutz.

John Schneider, Jr.—G. F. Stein and John Schneider, Sr.

John Maulbetsch—John N. Wedmayer and George A. Waidelich.

Gustave Meyer—Christ Martin and Wm. Idi.

Martin & Fischer—Titus F. Hutzel and John Berger.

Michael F. Schaible—Wm. F. Rehfuss and Matt. Fischer.

Wm. A. Gwinner—Mat. Lutz and Gottfried Schoettle.

Fred Brown—John Berger and G. F. Stein.

F.G. McCaffney—Philip O'Hara and C. F. Pardon.

Mrs. Dorothea Goetz John Goetz, Sr., and Wm. Goetz.

Christian Spaeth—Michael Staebler and Fred Staebler.

Louis Kurtz—Fred W. Buss and Alphonse Lemble.

John Berger—Fred Brown and Christian Spaeth.

Ann Arbor Brewing Co.—John Kapp and Chris. Gauss.

Ernest Rehberg.

George P. Wilder-P. B. Rose and S. B. Nickles.

Schumacher & Miller-M. J. Fritz and Titus F. Hutzel.

E. E. Calkins-O. L. Robinson and A. E. Mummery.

Arthur Mummery—A. J. Mummery and E. E. Calkins.

W. N. Salisbury-N. Woodmansee and Daniel Hiscock.

James Quarry-J. D. Ryan and H. W. Douglass.

J. L. Rose-Louis J. Leismer and Henry Otto.

James H. Lepper-E. V. Hangsterfer and J. F. Hoezle.

John C Burns-J. Collins and John Reynolds.

Respectfully submitted,

HENRY BLITON. WILHELM H. L. ROHDE. CHRISTIAN SCHLENKER.

The communication from the Board

Jeremiah Collins-John Reynolds and of Public Works relative to the appointment of Edwin W. Groves as City Engineer of the City of Ann Arbor at a salary of \$100 per month. was received and Ald. Jenney moved that the matter relative to City Engineer be left to a committee of three appointed by the chair, said committee to confer with the Board of Public Works and report to the Council at the next regular meeting.

> Coon moved to amend the above motion and that the committee of three to be appointed by the chair to confer with the Board of Public Works in regard to City Engineer, instead confer with the Finance Committee regarding the salaries of offi cers for the ensuing year.

Adopted as follows:

Yeas—Ald. Hamilton. Koch, Schlenker, Rohde, Kearns, Vandawarker, Brown, Grose, Coon, Jenney, Bliton and Fischer—12.

Nays—None.

On motion the Council adjourned. JAMES E. HARKINS, Clerk.